Home Vardon Trophy Winners

Vardon Trophy Winners

The Vardon Trophy Award

Here is the complete list of Vardon Trophy Winners. The Vardon Trophy is awarded annually to the player on the PGA Tour with the lowest scoring average for the year.

The player must play a minimum of 60 rounds in official tournament play. The Trophy is presented by the PGA of America and was first given in 1937 to Harry Cooper.

Rory McIlroy poses with the Vardon Trophy after winning the award in 2014
Rory McIlroy poses with the Vardon Trophy, 2014

Who has won the most Vardon Trophies?

Originally, the Vardon Trophy was awarded on the basis of a points system until it was changed to the lowest average score in 1947. There obviously was some sort of debacle over the award at some point during the transition to lowest adjusted scoring average seeing as there is no winner from 1942 to 1947.

If you don’t feel like looking through the list to find out who has won it the most times we got you covered. Tiger Woods has won the Vardon Trophy a record 9 times (as of 2019). At the peak of his prime, from 1999-2003, Tiger won the award 5 consecutive times.

Not to mention, Tiger has the top 7 scoring averages as the winner of the award. Not very surprising, but still flat-out impressive how dominant he was.

Notably, Lee Trevino and Billy Casper won it 5 times a piece, while Arnold Palmer and Sam Snead each won it 4 times.

Vardon Trophy Winners

YearWinnerAdjusted Scoring AverageCountry
2018Dustin Johnson68.70U.S.A
2017Jordan Spieth68.85U.S.A
2016Dustin Johnson69.17U.S.A
2015Jordan Spieth68.91U.S.A
2014Rory McIlroy68.83Northern Ireland
2013Tiger Woods68.98U.S.A
2012Rory McIlroy68.87Northern Ireland
2011Luke Donald68.86England
2010Matt Kuchar69.61U.S.A
2009Tiger Woods68.05U.S.A
2008Sergio Garcia69.12Spain
2007Tiger Woods67.79U.S.A
2006Jim Furyk68.86U.S.A
2005Tiger Woods68.66U.S.A
2004Vijay Singh68.84Fiji
2003Tiger Woods68.41U.S.A
2002Tiger Woods68.56U.S.A
2001Tiger Woods68.81U.S.A
2000Tiger Woods67.79U.S.A
1999Tiger Woods68.43U.S.A
1998David Duval69.13U.S.A
1997Nick Price68.98Zimbabwe
1996Tom Lehman69.32U.S.A
1995Steve Elkington69.92Australia
1994Greg Norman68.81Australia
1993Nick Price69.11Zimbabwe
1992Fred Couples69.38U.S.A
1991Fred Couples69.59U.S.A
1990Greg Norman69.1Australia
1989Greg Norman69.49Australia
1988Chip Beck69.49U.S.A
1987Dan Pohl70.25U.S.A
1986Scott Hoch70.08U.S.A
1985Don Pooley70.36U.S.A
1984Calvin Peete70.56U.S.A
1983Raymond Floyd70.61U.S.A
1982Tom Kite70.21U.S.A
1981Tom Kite69.8U.S.A
1980Lee Trevino69.73U.S.A
1979Tom Watson70.27U.S.A
1978Tom Watson70.16U.S.A
1977Tom Watson70.32U.S.A
1976Don January70.56U.S.A
1975Bruce Crampton70.51Australia
1974Lee Trevino70.53U.S.A
1973Bruce Crampton70.57Australia
1972Lee Trevino70.89U.S.A
1971Lee Trevino70.27U.S.A
1970Lee Trevino70.64U.S.A
1969Dave Hill70.34U.S.A
1968Billy Casper69.82U.S.A
1967Arnold Palmer70.18U.S.A
1966Billy Casper70.27U.S.A
1965Billy Casper70.85U.S.A
1964Arnold Palmer70.01U.S.A
1963Billy Casper70.58U.S.A
1962Arnold Palmer70.27U.S.A
1961Arnold Palmer69.85U.S.A
1960Billy Casper69.95U.S.A
1959Art Wall70.35U.S.A
1958Bob Rosburg70.11U.S.A
1957Dow Finsterwald70.3U.S.A
1956Cary Middlecoff70.35U.S.A
1955Sam Snead69.86U.S.A
1954E.J. "Dutch" Harrison70.41U.S.A
1953Lloyd Mangrum70.22U.S.A
1952Jack Burke70.54U.S.A
1951Lloyd Mangrum70.05U.S.A
1950Sam Snead69.23U.S.A
1949Sam Snead69.37U.S.A
1948Ben Hogan69.3U.S.A
1947Jimmy Demaret69.9U.S.A
1941Ben Hogan494 pointsU.S.A
1940Ben Hogan423 pointsU.S.A
1939Byron Nelson473 pointsU.S.A
1938Sam Snead520 pointsU.S.A
1937Harry Cooper500 pointsU.S.A